Other People’s Poems:

WAAAAAAAAH Stupid wordpress ATE my post. It said it wouldn’t, and then it DID. LYING BLOG HOST THING. Phooey.

Anyhow, before this thingie interrupted my flow of plagrization, I was saying that I am in the mood to share some poems that I’m fond of. Or that come to mind now, anyway.

First, 2 poems by Jack Prelutsky.

1 – Something Big Has Been Here:

Something big has been here.

What it was, I do not know,

for I did not see it coming,

and I did not see it go.

But I hope I never meet it.

If I do, I’m in a fix,

for it left behind it’s footprints.

They are size nine-fiftysix.

(And now, another. It’s always been one of my favorites.)

2 – As Soon as Fred Gets Out of Bed

As soon as Fred gts out of bed,

his underwear goes on his head.

His mother laughs – “Don’t put it there!

A head’s no place for underwear!”

But near his ears, above his brains,

is where Fred’s underwear remains.

At night, when Fred goes back to bed,

he deftly plucks it off his head.

His mother switches off the light,

and softly croons “Goodnight. Goodnight.”

And then, for reasons no one knows,

Fred’s underwear goes on his toes.

And now, one more, memorized from the inside door of the bathroom stall in my apartment in seminary.

(Fire and Ice, by Robert Frost.)

Some say the world will end in fire,

others say in ice. From what I’ve tasted of desire,

I hold with those who favor fire.

But if I had to perish twice,

I think I’d know enough of hate

to say that for destruction, Ice is also great,

and would suffice.

(I know, the formatting is all messed up, but sometimes the website doesn’t cooperate as it should.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

