Some things I just truly do not get. Help me out here?

What would you do if the last person you dated semi-seriously was married with a bun in the oven?  What would you do if you never thought of them except when they had some major life-event going on
 (that you didn’t find out about until afterwards) or when they suddenly came in close proximity to you (which, again, you didn’t find out until afterwards)  Basically I went out with someone AGES ago and never think of him unless something major is going on.  First, I feel like I’m going to see him on a date, and then I do…his first date with the person who ended up being his WIFE.  Then, one night, suddenly I couldn’t sleep because I was thinking about him and I later found out that at that time he was proposing to said gal.  Then I randomly thought of him for a few days (I am so over him so this is weird) and I find out he’s in Israel.

And then, just when I’m about to go on a (first) date with some guy, he pops into my head again.  I thought that was just because this was the best sounding guy I had had since the fellow in question.  Comparisons or something?  Anyway, there I am, out on this date, having more fun on a date than I’ve had in a LONG TIME and guess who comes strolling past?  Old guy and wifey.  WHY?  What am I supposed to be learning from this?  Its not emotional, it’s not making me nostalgic, it’s just plain WEIRD. 

I know everything happens for a reason, but I don’t get it.  Suggestions, anyone?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Some things I just truly do not get. Help me out here?

  1. frumpunk says:

    I’m not entirely sure what you’re asking. So you’re meeting people you used to date who are now married.

  2. Well now I am asking 2 questions:
    1. – Who are you?
    2. – Everything that happens happens for a reason. ESPECIALLY in Eretz Yisrael. So what am I supposed to be learning from this whole situation?

  3. frumpunk says:

    1. I’m Frum Punk. According to my avatar, I’m a cat with a mohawk. Probably not too far off.

    2. You can’t assume EVERYTHING. Otherwise I could start pondering minutia and drive myself crazy. (Not that I’m calling your situation insignificant. I’m just saying that sometimes things just… are.)

    All I could possibly assume is that seeing your former date now married with a kid on the way is a sign you should be getting married. But then, maybe thats just what you want to see.

  4. NO! All things are meaningful! There is stuff to learn! Frum punk doesn’t say it all. I am a frum punkette but there is more to me than meets the
    I(pod)

  5. frumpunk says:

    I am a dynamic figure, often seen scaling walls and crushing ice. I have been known to remodel train stations on my lunch breaks, making them more efficient in the area of heat retention. I translate ethnic slurs for Cuban refugees, I write award-winning operas, I manage time efficiently. Occasionally, I tread water for three days in a row.
    I woo women with my sensuous and godlike trombone playing, I can pilot bicycles up severe inclines with unflagging speed, and I cook Thirty Minute Brownies in twenty minutes. I am an expert in stucco, a veteran in love, and an outlaw in Peru.

    Using only a hoe and a large glass of water, I once single-handedly defended a small village in the Amazon Basin from a horde of ferocious army ants. I play bluegrass cello, I was scouted by the Mets. I am the subject of numerous documentaries. When I’m bored, I build large suspension bridges in my yard. I enjoy urban hang gliding. On Wednesdays, after school, I repair electrical appliances free of charge.

    I am an abstract artist, a concrete analyst, and a ruthless bookie. Critics worldwide swoon over my original line of corduroy evening wear. I don’t perspire. I am a private citizen, yet I receive fan mail. I have been caller number nine and won the weekend passes. Last summer I toured New Jersey with a traveling centrifugal-force demonstration. I bat .400. My deft floral arrangements have earned me fame in international botany circles. Children trust me.

    I can hurl tennis rackets at small moving objects with deadly accuracy. I once read Paradise Lost, Moby Dick, and David Copperfield in one day and still had time to refurbish an entire dining room that evening. I know the exact location of every food item in the supermarket. I have performed covert operations for the CIA. I sleep once a week; when I do sleep, I sleep in a chair. While on vacation in Canada, I successfully negotiated with a group of terrorists who had seized a small bakery. The laws of physics do not apply to me.

    I balance, I weave, I dodge, I frolic, and my bills are all paid. On weekends, to let off steam, I participate in full-contact origami. Years ago I discovered the meaning of life but forgot to write it down. I have made extraordinary four-course meals using only a Mouli and a toaster oven. I breed prizewinning clams. I have won bullfights in San Juan, cliff-diving competitions in Sri Lanka, and spelling bees at the Kremlin. I have played Hamlet, I have performed open-heart surgery, and I have spoken with Elvis.

  6. That’s funny, I think we once corresponded on frumster.

  7. frumpunk says:

    I don’t have a frumster account.

  8. Then I guess we didn’t. You must have an identical twin.

  9. frumpunk says:

    So you kept asking who I was thinking we once chatted on frumster? You could have just asked me directly.

  10. Nope, it didn’t occur to me until you made that posting. One of my missions over the past decade has been to find a frum punk band. I keep getting told that I can’t be frum AND a punk. I think I pull it off ok. (Though I am stronger on the frum than on the punk these days. B”H???) Anyway your name intrigued me.

  11. frumpunk says:

    Ah. Well did you hear the three demos I posted from my band? Thats the most I can do for you tight now.

  12. What band? I find your site kind of hard to navigate.

  13. Quick, please, as sfirah is upon us!

  14. frumpunk says:

    http://frumpunk.wordpress.com/2008/04/02/

    I think I set it up nicely. You can click by month or hold the mouse over the calender date and it shows what posts were made that day. Also theres a search function.

  15. frumpunk says:

    If it doesnt get through because of the link, look for “The Sound of Ears Breaking” on April 2nd.

  16. frumpunk says:

    Talent borrows, genius steals.

  17. I feel like we’re IMing. Back to highschool.

  18. Rule #266: When in doubt, lie.
    Rule #60: Keep your lies consistent.

    I’d rather go with the 613.

  19. frumpunk says:

    My rule: If Oscar Wilde said it, go with it.

    (Except for his… stranger inclinations.)

  20. Have I just labeled myself as a huge nerd? I am only familiar through friends..and an occasional indulgence.

  21. frumpunk says:

    So what did you think of the songs?

  22. Anonymous says:

    ok so did you two get married……

Leave a Reply

